2000 Nobel Prize Announcements

<Prev Next>
Prize Announcements

The 2000 Nobel Prizes are awarded in the early October. The Nobel Prizes in Peace, Literature, Economics,Chemistry, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine have been announced as well as the Ig Nobel Prizes!

The time of the announcement is given in Stockholm time; subtract 6 hours to get the US Eastern Standard Time). If you use a JavaScript-enabled browser, move your mouse over the prize category and the status bar will display how soon the prize in this category will be announced.

    Date: Friday, October 13, 2000 (11:00 a.m.)
    Prize: PEACE
    Awarding institution: The Norwegian Nobel Institute
    And the winner is...

    Kim Dae Jung
    for his work for democracy and human rights in South Korea and in East Asia in general, and for peace and reconciliation with North Korea in particular.

    Date: Thursday, October 12, 2000 (1:00 p.m. at the earliest) .
    Awarding institution: The Swedish Academy
    And the winner is...

    Gao Xingjian
    for an oeuvre of universal validity, bitter insights and linguistic ingenuity, which has opened new paths for the Chinese novel and drama.

    Date: Wednesday, October 11, 2000 (11:45 a.m. at the earliest)
    Prize: ECONOMICS
    Awarding institution: The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
    And the winners are...

    James J. Heckman and Daniel L. McFadden
    "to James Heckman for his development of theory and methods for analyzing selective samples and to Daniel McFadden for his development of theory and methods for analyzing discrete choice"

    Date: Tuesday, October 10, 2000 (11:45 a.m. at the earliest)
    Prize: PHYSICS
    Awarding institution: The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
    And the winners are...

    Zhores I. Alferov, and Herbert Kroemer
    "for developing semiconductor heterostructures used in high-speed- and opto-electronics"


    Jack S. Kilby
    "for his part in the invention of the integrated circuit".

    Date: Monday, October 9, 2000 (11:30 a.m. at the earliest)
    Awarding institution: The Nobel Assembly at the Karolinska Institute
    And the winners are...

    Arvid Carlsson, Paul Greengard and Eric Kandel
    "for their discoveries concerning signal transduction in the nervous system"

    Date: Thursday, October 5, 2000 at 7:30 pm EDT
    Awarding institution: The Annals of Improbable Research
    And the winners are:

    David Dunning of Cornell University and Justin Kreuger of the University of Illinois, for their modest report, "Unskilled and Unaware of It: How Difficulties in Recognizing One's Own Incompetence Lead to Inflated Self-Assessments," Journal of Personality and Social Psychology, 77(6):1121-34, December 1999.

    Jasmuheen of Australia, first lady of Breatharianism, for her book Living on Light, which explains that although some people do eat food, they don't ever really need to.

    Richard Wassersug of Dalhousie University, for his first-hand report, "On the Comparative Palatability of Some Dry-Season Tadpoles from Costa Rica," The American Midland Naturalist, 86(1):101-9, July 1971.

    Andre Geim of the University of Nijmegen (the Netherlands) and Sir Michael Berry of Bristol University (UK), for using magnets to levitate a frog and a sumo wrestler. Additional information can be found in MV Berry and AK Geim, "Of Flying Frogs and Levitrons", European Journal of Physics, 18:307-13, 1997.

    Donatella Marazziti, Alessandra Rossi, and Giovanni B. Cassano of the University of Pisa, and Hagop S. Akiskal of the University of California (San Diego), for their discovery that, biochemically, romantic love may be indistinguishable from having severe obsessive-compulsive disorder. Additional information can be found in D Marazziti, HS Akiskal, A Rossi, and GB Cassano, "Alteration of the platelet serotonin transporter in romantic love," Psychological Medicine, 29(3):741-5, May 1999.

    The Reverend Sun Myung Moon, for bringing efficiency and steady growth to the mass-marriage industry, with, according to his reports, a 36-couple wedding in 1960, a 430-couple wedding in 1968, an 1800-couple wedding in 1975, a 6000-couple wedding in 1982, a 30,000-couple wedding in 1992, a 360,000-couple wedding in 1995, and a 36,000,000-couple wedding in 1997.

    Willibrord Weijmar Schultz, Pek van Andel, and Eduard Mooyaart of Groningen, The Netherlands, and Ida Sabelis of Amsterdam, for their illuminating report, "Magnetic Resonance Imaging of Male and Female Genitals During Coitus and Female Sexual Arousal", British Medical Journal, 319:1596-1600, 1999.

    Chris Niswander of Tucson, Arizona, for inventing PawSense, software that detects when a cat is walking across your computer keyboard.

    The British Royal Navy, for ordering its sailors to stop using live cannon shells, and to instead just shout "Bang!"

    Jonathan Wyatt, Gordon McNaughton, and William Tullet of Glasgow, for their alarming report, "The Collapse of Toilets in Glasgow," Scottish Medical Journal, 38:185, 1993.

[ Back to The Nobel Prize Internet Archive ]
[ Literature * Peace * Chemistry * Physics * Economics * Medicine ]

Become a Sponsor of the Nobel Prize Internet Archive!
We always welcome your feedback and comments.
Copyright © 1996-2003 Ona Wu. All rights reserved.